Skip to content

Putting the pH in Fortification

March 25, 2011

With all my health woes lately (mild stomach flu, two colds and strep throat, all since January), I’m itching to get my immune system back on the straight and narrow. After a nice chat with my doctor yesterday, I’ve started taking a daily supplement of ginseng, as well as a daily probiotics capsule since I’m currently on antibiotics. It’s astonishing to me that they can fit 50 billion bacteria in one pill (and also creepy. Those things are woken from a frozen sleep inside my body. Shiver!)!

But I don’t want to rely on supplements to take care of my health. Exercise and diet are key. I started on the exercise part earlier this week, but my efforts were waylaid by The Strep. Antibiotics + C = Tired C. I’ll get back to it over the next few days.

My diet though, needs help. I make fairly healthy food choices, but they could be better. I mentioned the other day that I was investigating pH and it’s effect on the body. I picked up a book from Indigo by Christopher Vasey called The Acid/Alkaline Diet for Optimum Health. I haven’t had a chance to read it in depth, but I’ve browsed through each chapter and mostly like what I see.

The basic premise is that 80% of your foods should be alkaline, 20% acidic. You can’t cut out acidic foods altogether, as you need them to maintain a healthy pH balance. Mr. Vasey categorizes foods into three categories: alkalizing foods (good for you), acidifying foods (not so good for you) and acid foods. The third category is filled with foods that have weak amounts of acid. Some people can handle them, some people can’t, which is why they’re separated out.

How does my current diet fit? I probably eat an equal amount from all three categories, which means there is some adjusting do be done if I’m going to try this. The good news is that there are plenty of tasty, yummy alkalizing and weak-acid foods (for now, I”m assuming I can handle these) that are currently a regular part of my diet. The bad news is that the acidic culprits are some of my favourite things to eat:

  • Meat
  • Dairy
  • Sugar
  • Coffee

I’m not a huge milk fan but I can literally eat cheese with anything. But I don’t have to cut them out completely. Just reduce the amounts I eat. I just watched a video by Kris Carr (of Crazy Sexy Life fame) and thought she explained it perfectly (thanks for the link B!):

I love food. It’s important to me to enjoy my eating experiences. I’m still thinking about my Valentine’s dinner and it’s been over a month. I can still recall the taste of some sauteed mushrooms I had at a restaurant in Halifax when I was 12. That’s how much food affects me. But I also realize the effect food can have on me, hence this discussion on pH balancing.

I have a bit more investigating to do before I decide whether or not this is for me. There is varying information out there on the alkalizing/acidifying affects of different foods, so I need to do a bit more research on what’s what. I also need to test my pH levels to see where I stand on the scale.

In the meantime, there are some changes I can make to help things along a bit while deciding how I want to move forward. Various sources recommend drinking a glass of water with 1/2 a lemon squeezed into it each morning. Lemon is acidic, yes, but it becomes alkaline as we metabolize it. I’m not a fan of flavoured water, but this seems like a very simple thing to add to my morning routine.

Also, everything I’ve read so far indicates that drinking some sort of ‘Green’ drink can help balance your pH. Every morning, A has a green drink using a powdered mix. I’ve tasted it and it’s not my favourite. But I found a site called Green Monster Movement that has many recipes using powdered greens in smoothies. If it tastes good, this could be a great way for me to get my greens!

Happy eating!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 11:45 am

    A here, to defend my greens drink.

    There are a ton of recipies online for making greens-drink smoothies, with or without protein powder, to help make it more palatable. With a good protein powder, berries, green tea and maybe some of my buckwheat honey, should make for a superfood breakfast shake.

Leave a Reply

