Skip to content

Future Self

March 17, 2011

This morning the alarm went off at 6am. A rolled over and said to me: “Are you going to work out?”

Last weekend I vowed to start getting up earlier to work out, since it appears that mornings are the best time for me to do that. My answer, for the fourth time this week? “No, I don’t feel like it. I’ll start on Monday”.

A, who was quite chipper this morning, followed up with “You know there is no future self, only your self now.”

Very Confucian for 6am on a Thursday, but I knew what he was saying: If I don’t do it now, when will I do it?

I’ve been putting off working out for months now. I used to work out regularly, several times a week but for some reason lost all motivation to do so early last Fall. I’m assuming it was the result of some sort of dating woe at the time (last year was one giant dating woe it seems) and it’s strange, because working out has always been a good outlet for me when my emotions are riding high. Ah well. Whatever the reason, I’m quite cognizant of my need to firm things up a bit. There’s a, um, jiggle in my thighs that I’m not that fond of and I need it to go away ASAP!

So here is me telling my future self to shove it! I’m going to commit to working out at least three mornings a week. I obviously can’t start right now, since my current self is nowhere near the elliptical trainer in my basement, so there is an element of ‘future’  involved. But my start date WILL be Monday, if not earlier.

Go self!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 11:25 am

    Hi all, it’s me, A. Happy Green Beer Day!

    C, are you forgetting that there is a Friday morning comming up? Some say that a good workout is a suitable cure for a hangover (mostly crazy people IMO).

Leave a Reply

