Skip to content

The Oscars in an Hour

March 2, 2011

I was home late from work last night. After our leftovers dinner, my initial thought was to watch an episode of Battlestar Galactica, but A insisted we watch the rest of the Oscars (I later learned he only suggested it because he knew I wanted to watch them. What a nice boyfriend to sit through them with me đŸ™‚ ). We only made it through a half hour of them on Sunday before calling time of death. Slightly painful.

However, I did want to see some of my favourite celebs in their fancy dresses and tuxes present and in some cases, accept, awards, so we watched the PVR version. And my friends, let me tell you: watching them taped is the way to go! We sat down at 8:20 and by 9:20 we’d run through the whole show! Basically I watched the celebs make their presentations, fast-forwarded through the boring acceptance speeches (except for the ones I wanted to see…Colin Firth….Swoon) and watched some of the entertainment while buzzing through the rest (Loved the orchestral montage, though wish it had been longer; jury is still out on the Twilight/Toy Story/Harry Potter ‘musical’).

B and I developed our own voting system long ago, and though we didn’t spend Oscar night together, I stuck to it! We select the nominee we ‘want’ to win and the one we ‘think’ will win, thereby increasing our chances. If you’re feeling particularly bold and lucky, you can select the same ‘want’ and ‘think’.  Of the 24 awards, I guessed 13 right, and all but one were both nominees I’d wanted and thought would win. Boo ya! Good instincts this year.

Complicated, I know. It’s our way.

As for fashion, well. It was hit and miss as far as I’m concerned. I’m a fairly simple gal when it comes to glamour. Classic and elegant is where it’s at. I don’t do edgy or trendy. So it’s no surprise that the gowns that resonated with me were those worn by Mandy Moore (on the red carpet), Reese Witherspoon, Sandra Bullock and Anne Hathaway. Lovely! On my ‘Um, really?’ list: Cate Blanchett, Mark Ruffalo’s wife, Nichole Kidman and Francis Walsh.

Overall, I wasn’t really impressed with the whole event this year. To be honest, I was bored. James Franco could barely express himself. It was astonishing that he was nominated for Best Actor. And though I adore Anne Hathaway, she was overcompensating for James’ lack of enthusiasm. Her giggles were a bit nauseating.

But I will watch again! The glitz and glamour are addicting and I love it!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

