Skip to content

The Hand You’re Dealt

February 28, 2011

I have several life philosophies:

1. The Golden Rule: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you – in essence, treat people as you want to be treated, regardless of how they treat you;

2. Respect other peoples choices, decisions and beliefs without judging, unless those choices, decisions and beliefs violate the rights of others or bring harm in any way; and

3. Our actions and life experiences don’t define us. It’s how we handle those things that makes us who we are.

Number 3 has been particularly on my mind lately.

2010 was not particularly kind to several people I love. They were challenged in ways I don’t want to get into, but what stood out to me was that they haven’t let the events that befell them take control. They’re still dealing with it, but are continuing on with their lives even though at times it’s a struggle.

I too had a particularly challenging year in 2010, in terms of my personal life, and am proud to say that I didn’t let it get me down for too long. I took each experience and learned from it.  I could have broken down at any point and given up, but I didn’t and that, my friends, is what makes me who I am. Those experiences have brought me to the place I am in today and I wouldn’t change it for the world (especially if it means that I wouldn’t meet A).

Sometimes we’re dealt a crappy hand of cards. It’s how you play them that means something.

And isn’t that a profound thought for a Monday morning!?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

