Skip to content

Train

February 3, 2011

I travel the GO train every day. Well, almost every day. But lately with the price of gas being so high, and the weather being questionable,  it’s been a regular thing. I’m often reminded of Train 48 when I ride, because despite the soap opera nature of it, it depicted the types of relationships that develop (and if you’re a good Canadian, you’ll remember Train 48 on Global TV from 2003-05). Commuters on the train have their own sub-culture. Friendships, romances, casual recognition, ‘ususal’ seats.

It’s fascinating, especially to my anthropological self, and if you pay attention, you can learn a lot about the people surrounding you. At the moment (and maybe it’s because I’m feeling so happy and satisfied with my beau that my senses are heightened and tuned in to whatever romantic frequency they emit) I am seeing happy couples all over the train!

  • The young couple in University. They were on their way to his parents house for the weekend, where she would meet his family for the first time. “Are you nervous?” he asked her, grabbing her hand. “I was” she responded “but not anymore”.
  • The married couple who commute together. As the train stops and the doors open, they give each other a kiss, say “Love you, have a great day”, and head out in opposite directions.
  • The single guy who makes a phone call. “I’m just calling to wish you a safe trip. All you have to bring back is your sweet self”. Not so single after all, and from the sounds of it, it’s a new relationship.
  • The sleeping couple. Her head resting on his shoulder, his head resting on hers.

For once in my life, seeing these interactions doesn’t bother me. It doesn’t make me jealous or envious. It just makes me smile and think of my own growing relationship with A.

And then my smile gets bigger.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

