Skip to content

Giving

January 12, 2011

Rather than scour the shops this year, looking for the perfect gift for each of my loved ones, I chose instead to make a donation to the Children’s Aid Foundation Surrogate Santa Program. I believe strongly in this program, which takes my donation and buys a meal and gifts for a family in need. My family is blessed. There is no question of that and I have never taken it for granted. I’m reminded of that as I sit here watching President Obama address the funeral for the victims of last weeks shooting in Arizona (tears).

We don’t need anything, so I make the choice to give to those who do.

But I didn’t want to show up completely empty handed! I considered making a knitted ornament for my family; I even went so far as to buy the wool, but after making  sample, I wasn’t pleased with the results (I’m a bit of a perfectionist). I’m not particularly crafty without a pattern, and for awhile I was stumped as to what to make. And then I remembered this post I had read on one of my favourite blogs, Oh She Glows awhile back. It was the suggestion to give a jar of dry ingredients with an accompanying recipe to make Peppermint Walnut Crunch Blondies, and I thought it was something different and unique. Perfect to pull together at the last minute and give to my family. So I gave it a go and loved how they turned out:

Cute, yes?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 2:10 pm

    These are great! I was all about trying to make gifts too for family (minus the nieces and nephews) but I ran out of time. I love ’em, great job!

Leave a Reply

