Skip to content

Meh

January 2, 2011

Well, the date was a bit of a bust. For a few reasons:

1. I wasn’t nervous going into it. That’s never a good sign. Nerves to me equal excitement about someone. Even though we had a good conversation on Thursday and seem to have a lot in common, something about our phone conversation was a little ‘meh’

2. The ‘meh’-ness continued when my gut didn’t speak to me upon seeing him. I know the feeling I should feel to indicate chemistry with someone and it just wasn’t there. In my experience, if it’s not there within the first few minutes, it’s not going to come. I was right.

3. I was a little bored throughout lunch and found myself asking the time just after three (we met at 2pm). I felt bad, but suggested we should get the cheque as I was meeting some friends around 4pm (totally legit excuse! I met up with M1 and M2 at 4:30)

4. He didn’t pay. That was the clincher. Never mind that there was no chemistry, the guy should ALWAYS pay on the first date. I pulled out my wallet like a polite girl should to show she’s willing to pay, and said ‘all I have are 20’s’. Normally, a guy would say ‘don’t worry about it’ or ‘I’ve got it’ and shell out the 15 bucks or so, but he said ‘I only have 20’s too, so we’ll get some change’. Huh?

Anyways, at least I”m back out there! Every experience puts me that much closer to finding what I want. I’ll just keep on swimming 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

