Skip to content

Weekend wrap up

November 22, 2010

The rest of my weekend was uneventful but busy. I’ve had a lot going on lately, which means my housekeeping was suffering a bit, so I spent most of yesterday cleaning bathrooms, swiffering (with re-usable and washable micro-fibre cloths my mom made me for my Swiffer), vacuuming, changing light bulbs and doing laundry.

I also got out and finally did a grocery shop, my first in two weeks! My cupboards were very, very bare. At this time of year though, when it’s pitch black by the time I get home and all I want to do is curl up on the couch, my desire to cook is minimal. Still, nutrition is important, so I picked up a few frozen meals to make, all courtesy of President’s Choice: Ok, so the hors d’oeuvres aren’t technically a meal. I like having appetizers for dinner sometimes, and these are new and sounded so tasty I just couldn’t resist! The best thing about all these meals is that I can portion out individual servings for solo meals. This is key for me as a single gal. (Images are all from here)

Note: Galen Weston Jr. (whom I have a crazy crush on) should pay me for endorsing his goods! Or just take me in as his mistress 🙂

Last night I made the Emmental Souffle. I poured out the little frozen souffle chunks as instructed, overfilling the ramekin, then popped it into the oven for 40 minutes. Partway through, I peeked through the window and noticed it had sunken into the bowl, but by the time the 40 minutes was up, it had puffed up nicely and this was the end result:

I let it cool for a few minutes, then dug in and yum! Very tasty. I was impressed. It’s decent calorie wise and a good protein source. I roasted some spaghetti squash (some of which I was able to freeze for other meals) to eat with it for a more complete meal. Next time I’m going to get the Smoked Salmon and Dill kind. Yum.

And now it’s just another manic monday. Hopefully Friday will be here before we know it! It’s CJ’s first birthday on the 26th. Amazing how the year has just flown by!

I have no news as far as my love life is concerned. No response from N to my email I sent last week (in response to his), but then I didn’t really expect one. We know where we stand with each other. Come the new year, I’ll make my way back into the dating game. But until then I’m really enjoying myself. As much as I want to be with someone, I like not thinking about dating 24/7. A month is not going to kill me.

Hope everyone had a good weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

