Skip to content

Remembrance

November 11, 2010

It’s Remembrance Day in Canada. It’s a time for us to remember and honour the men and women who have served and continue to serve our Country. 

I had a discussion with my sister’s father-in-law (who served in the Greek army) over Thanksgiving. He was adamant that like other provinces in Canada, Ontario should give people the day off. I agreed, to an extent, because this morning at 11am I was at my desk participating in a webinar and didn’t have a chance to observe a moment of silence. If I wasn’t at work, I could have watched the ceremonies on TV or even attended one locally.

However, and I told him this, I think it’s beneficial to the youth of our nation to actually be at school, where they actively participate in and discuss Remembrance Day. At least we know they’re being educated about it. If they were at home, how much would they absorb?

As it is, 11am came and went and I was absorbed with work. So tonight I’m putting aside all my personal life woes and I’m going to be thankful that all I have to worry about is when N will be in touch. It could be much, much worse. I live in a free, safe and democratic country and it’s all because of those people we remember today.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

