Skip to content

Yarn ho!

November 2, 2010

I’m becoming a yarn ho. I hunted out a basket on the weekend to keep my current knitting projects in, but I seem determined to fill it with yarn for future projects I don’t even have yet!

Last night in knitting class we had a field trip to a local store that specializes in yarns of various natural fibres: wool, cotton, silk, bamboo. Lovely things, and wonder of wonders, they had a 50% off bin! I picked up these beauties:

"Conch" Bonsai Colours by Berroco (97% bamboo!)

South Pacific by Estelle Yarns (I got the lovely blue colour, no.924. It's 100% cotton!)

South Pacific by Estelle Yarns (I got the lovely blue colour, no.924. It's 100% cotton!)

I’m going to keep a look out for patterns to make, but in the mean time I need to finish my current projects. Yes, projects in plural. I’m working on a scarf for CJ and for myself ๐Ÿ™‚

(M1, I know you’re super jealous that M2 and I got to experience this. We even sat in the knitting circle! But don’t worry, we arranged for a one on one with you and teacher on Saturday.*** She’ll have lots to tell you, I”m sure.)

What else is going on…hmmm. I’m super busy at work these days, which is a good thing. My furnace is STILL broken. The guy came today to install the new circuit board (took like two weeks to get here) and then the exhaust fan broke. Sigh. But the part should be in tomorrow, so fingers crossed I’ll have heat tomorrow night! My kitty and I cuddled together in bed last night. At the moment we have the fire on, making it nice and toasty and she’s stretched out in front of it.

I’m working my way through the world ofย  online dating and am chatting with a couple of guys through email right now. We’ll see what happens! Anyone who sends me an instant message is immediately dismissed and that’s that! Especially the guy who wrote me today that he’s met over 60 women and a few couples online over the years. Number one: he obviously didn’t read my profile. Number two: Why do I need to know how many women he’s dated and Number three: couples???? Did he really write that?? These are the guys I need to weed out and this one made it very easy for me!

Now I’m going to settle in with a heating pad, which serves a dual purpose tonight (men, cover your eyes): it’ll warm me up and help my cramps. I’m hoping the second aleve I just took kicks in soon!

***Kidding!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 10:17 am

    Wow I am jealous. To think you were able to form more of a bond with the teacher makes me blue. Your yarn picks look amazing which really does make me jealous – I hate missing a bargain! I’ve been knitting by the tv too ๐Ÿ™‚ not the blanket as planned but a scarf (I need quick gratification of a less complicated project). Have fun!

    • According To C permalink*
      November 3, 2010 1:15 pm

      I’m all about quick gratification!

  2. beyondbennett permalink
    November 3, 2010 12:38 pm

    Love the bamboo colours!

    Cool header, btw.

    • According To C permalink*
      November 3, 2010 1:14 pm

      Thanks! I made it myself ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

