Skip to content

Back on the horse

October 29, 2010

I wish I’d had the guts and confidence to date in high school. Back before the technological boom of email and texting and a guy would be forced to either talk to you in person or call you up.

But I didn’t and now I’m firmly entrenched in the impersonal world of dating through mobile devices and computers. Don’t get me wrong, I love the initial anonymity of a well written email. It gives me a chance to form my thoughts clearly and coherently. But once you progress to the point of giving someone your number, there should be more voice action and less text action. Sadly, that doesn’t seem to happen anymore.

I think in this next round of dating (once I go back on…I think I’ll give Lavalife a browse this weekend to test the waters), I’m going to try and implement a no texting policy. Somehow, I’m going to finagle the guy into actually calling me to make plans. I’m not quite sure yet how I’m going to do that, but I’m going to try.

There doesn’t seem to be any pizazz in dating anymore. I’d like a little pizazz. It’s time I called the shots and make the guy work for me. I haven’t had enough of that in my life.

I should confess that I texted N on Monday night. I hated how things ‘ended’ between us and needed a less dramatic closure. I didn’t bring up anything we’d been through, but just told him how I’d watched the movie he’d suggested and enjoyed it. He responded, and we volleyed back and forth about that a few times. He mentioned he was going on vacation and that was pretty much it. I wasn’t looking to get back with him, but merely try and finish things with him on good terms. I’m not holding out hope that he’ll be in touch again. I regret everything that happened, but I have to move forward. I’m going to go back online and sign up for a speed dating event.

There we have it. I’m getting back on that horse!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

