Skip to content

My Bad Week

October 8, 2010

I’ve had a crappy week. I haven’t been sleeping well and things just have not been going well in my personal life, on many levels. To top it off, I just received some bad news about the parent of a close friend and I’m devastated for her.

Let’s just say it’s a good thing I’m on vacation next week, or else I’d probably have a complete meltdown.

I’m not up to talking about any of it right now, but wanted to post something to try and cheer me up. I remembered this little gem from my past and thought it would be fun to share. It was 1987. I was nine and our class became published writers. My published masterpiece sort of fits with how things have been going for me this week, so without further ado, I bring you:

 

"My Bad Week"

 

I think the wallpaper covering was inspired (HINT: Click on the pics to make them bigger if you can’t see my artistic genius)

 

"On Sunday my sister kicked me. My mom got mad"

 

Sadly, my drawing skills have not improved…luckily my writing skills have

 

"On Monday, I got sick. I had to go to the doctor. Ick, ick, ick."

 

I’ve got rhyming skills, yo

 

"On Tuesday my best friend threw me in the mud"

 

Oh dear

 

"On Wednesday I got wet. The teacher got mad"

 

Two comments: one, I was obviously the tallest kid in class, even then. Two, I really got the vernacular down with the bubbled ‘a burn’ comment. I tried to keep it real for my audience.

 

"On Thursday I tripped over my shoes"

 

I still carry a bag that big

 

"On Friday I forgot my lunch"

 

How much do you love the mullet I’m rockin’?

 

 

"On Saturday I got out of bed on the wrong side"

 

I’ve since perfected my bed drawing ability and don’t need to label it a ‘bed’ anymore

 

"Then it started all over again!"

 

Crappy week huh?

Not only did I sign it, along with my closest friends and family (Mom and Dad, you guys were super impressed and CB, you liked it a lot apparently), but one fan in particular stood out:

That’s right folks, Prize Popple herself signed my book!

 

This popple isn't mine, but I have mine still! She's tucked away safely in a box in my basement along with my Pound Puppy and my Snuggle Bum.

 

And thus began my writing career. Genius in the making. I’ll leave you with my bio, c.1987:

“C is nine years old and is in grade three.

There are four in her family.

C likes to eat oranges.

She also likes to play with her friends”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 8:47 am

    Hahaha! That is hilarious! What a cute story! …sorry to hear about the bad week. Hopefully things look up. If you need a knitting/coffee shop adventure, you know who to call!

  2. Nurse C. permalink
    October 9, 2010 11:22 am

    OMG. Love it! I can’t believe how many memories that brings! It’s like it was yesterday 🙂 Hope your week gets better, thinking about you C.

Leave a Reply

