Skip to content

Thoughts of old

September 30, 2010

I felt old today. Maybe it’s the approach of my 33rd birthday (three months and a handful of days to go). Maybe it’s the fact that I hadn’t had my coffee yet. But I found myself cursing a bunch of 12 year olds on the train this morning.

Apparently it was WE day today in Toronto and while I think it’s awesome so many young people are active in making positive changes throughout the world, they could be a little quieter about it!

My train ride in is usually one of peaceful solitude. Everyone keeps to themselves and are so quiet you could hear a pin drop. But today, there were chatty, hormonally charged students and my quiet was interupted. I felt old. And slightly embarrassed for how obvious the girls were in expressing interest in the boys, though they thought they weren’t. Was I that obvious with my crushes when I was that age? MORTIFIED!!!

I felt even older when I got to Union Station and all I could hear was cheering and screaming as WE students were directed to the festivities. I found myself cringing. CRINGING! I felt like my mom (sorry mom, love you)!

To top it off, work today was particularly physical and I”m aching tonight. A long, super hot bath awaits me very shortly. It’s going to be just as physical tomorrow. Sigh. I’m trying to think positively that I”ll be burning off the Organic Craft Burger I had for lunch (yum!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

