Skip to content

ME Weekend – Saturday and Sunday

September 26, 2010

Yesterday was a great ME day! My time at the spa was wonderful. It was so quiet and peaceful there. My treatments (facial, mani/pedi) were quite relaxing and not at all rushed, which I liked. And the lady who did it said I have good skin that will age well, so that’s good news!

After the spa I headed over to L’s. We had a quick bite to eat at Tim’s before heading downtown to toot around. Our first stop was Kensington Market. I bought a groupon a few months ago to buy some organic products (Pretty Organics) from Essence of Life. It was a $100 worth that I bought for only $25! I walked away with two lots of bath salts, foot butter, hand butter, two bars of soap, face serum and a facial mud. Awesome deal!

We walked Queen street and mostly window shopped, with stops for frozen yogurt and coffee (for me) along the way before heading up Bathurst to Southern Accent where we had dinner reservations and appointments to see the tarot reader. For dinner, I had a very tasty, but slightly tart, salad of baby spinach, poached pears, dried cranberries and goat cheese in a lime vinaigrette (hence the tart). As my main, I had a vegetarian dish. Layers of grilled eggplant with curried lentils and dried fruits in between. Kind of like lasagna. A red pepper coulis was drizzled over top and it was amazing!

The tarot reading though, didn’t leave me feeling as buoyed as it did last time. She doesn’t see me with anyone firm over the next year. I asked about N and she says he is crazy about me but holding back, but that she sees us dating for a bit. No length specified though or when (if) he’ll come back into my life. She did see good things with me through work, which was interesting. She saw me ‘teaching’, which I later realized could be a reference to the fact that I’ve been asked to speak to a few groups of people about what I do.

The one interesting thing she said, though it was quite generic, was that I was conflicted about what to do and that I shouldn’t compromise. I’ve been torn about how to handle things with N. I know I still like him, but I can’t wait forever. So today I wrote him a note basically saying that when he’s ready I’d love to hear from him. That’s it. That’s all I can do.

Here’s the thing. I’m not going to let what she says determine my future. I think that maybe that’s my future right now, but the choices and decisions we make in life make it a fluid process. Your future is not pre-determined.

I got home last night and pretty much crashed right away! A day of being outdoors and walking around downtown just completely knocked me out.

This morning I woke up and ME day part III started, in which I vegged on the couch again. This time I decided to start watching Pillars of The Earth, the mini series based on the book by Ken Follett, and IT”S AWESOME!!! There are eight episodes and I’m not sure whether I’m proud or ashamed to say I watched all of them today (that’s a lot of couch time). I just got so caught up with the storyline and the characters. And I love history. It was set in medieval England, which is right up my alley.

I did manage to get a work out in there (while watching Pillars of course), folded some laundry, cleaned the cat litter and did spend a few hours at my parents with my sister and CJ this afternoon and for dinner. So I wasn’t on the couch ALL day 🙂

Oh, CJ is walking!!! She’s taking about 5-10 steps at a time before plopping down to a crawl again. It’s so amazing! She’s 10 months today. I can’t believe how fast time has flown by.

Anyways, I feel good, really good about my ME weekend. It was just what I needed. I’d originally  given myself until the end of this month to not date, but I’ll see how I am at the end of this week. N is going to be tough to get over, so I may need a little extra time. I really regret how things went down with him, and still really like him. That’s not so easy to let go of, I don’t care what the books say. It’s usually it’s a variation of ‘he’s not worth your time, forget him’.  I just don’t let go of things that quickly and there’s no point getting out there again if I’m not in the right head space. I’ll do what’s right for me. I always do.

Tomorrow I start my knitting class and I’m stoked! I have ambitions to be a fabulous knitter! Sweaters, scarves, hats….I suppose I should get through the dishcloth project first (our first assignment).

Anyways, I hope everyone had a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

