Skip to content

Love lists

July 30, 2010

I’ve been dealing with a lot lately, and as evidenced by yesterday’s post update, I’ve also been feeling quite sorry for myself and for the whole situation. Not fun.

I had an email from B this morning with a link to this article. It’s about taking time to remember and think about the little things you love. Just the random things in life that bring you joy. A love list. So I’m going to try it. Here we go!

10 things I love:

1. Diet Pepsi – more specifically, the carbonation of Diet Pepsi. I don’t drink a lot of pop, but there is absolutely nothing like the burst of bubbles against your tongue after that first big gulp.

2. Spontaneous choreographed dance sequences in movies – think the opening scene in 17 Again. Or the prom scene in She’s All That. OH! Or the Thriller montage in 13 Going on 30. Brilliant!  I LOVE those dance scenes, where people ‘randomly’ start dancing the same moves.

3. On a related note to no.2, I LOVE flash mobs. You know, the ones you see on You Tube in train stations etc., where people just start dancing.

4. The smell of a bakery. There’s a route I used to drive home which would take me past the Weston Bakery on Eastern Avenue in Toronto. Here you are, sitting in your car in traffic, when suddenly the scent of fresh bread wafts into the car. It’s peaceful and calming and reminds me of my Nanny and growing up in Newfoundland.

5. Speaking of Newfoundland, the place I love most in the whole entire world is in the town where my family is from. Up over the hill, through the Anglican cemetery and a field of wild grass and rocks, down over the cliff, is a place you can sit and just be. The town is just around the bend, but from where I sit it’s invisible and it’s just me and the sound of the ocean to keep me company.

6. Jelly Beans

7. Surprises. Surprisingly, considering my need for control and to know what’s going on, I actually do love surprises. Probably because it’s so hard to pull one over on me, that when it happens, it happens good! In addition to my surprise 30th birthday party thrown by my sister (I was seriously shocked), my favourite surprise was 10 years ago or so. Les Miserables, my favourite musical of all time, was playing in Toronto and I begged my parents for weeks on end to get tickets. I finally gave up (not an easy feat for me). Christmas morning arrived and we began our ritual of unwrapping presents one by one. As usual, there was a gift for both my sister and I, and I was nominated to open it. It was a video performance of the 10th anniversary of Les Miserables (yes, I said video. This was before DVD’s became so popular). “Oh, great” I said with minimal enthusiasm “This will be nice to watch”. “Open it up” my dad said, “make sure it’s the right movie”. WTF?? “Ok” I said with absolutely no clue, so open it up I did, and watched as an envelope fell out of the case, with the distinctive words TICKETMASTER printed on it. Surprise! We went two days later and it was just as fabulous as the first time I’d seen it. Good one guys! You got me!!

8. Finding money you didn’t know you had, even if it’s just a loonie! (for those of you non-Canadians, the loonie is our one-dollar coin. There is indeed a picture of a loon on it). It makes you feel like a kid, when a dollar could buy a ton of candy.

9. The feeling you have that first hour after you finish work before beginning a week long vacation. There’s nothing more exhilarating than knowing you don’t have to work for five whole days.

10. Butterflies. I love butterflies. It’s like they’re floating in air, and they’re so pretty and colourful!

Know what? I feel a bit better. Thanks B!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

