Skip to content

Sense and Sensitivity

July 16, 2010

Ah ha, see my play on words there?

Sensitivity. When M and I were going through our hoopla, he told me he wasn’t used to dealing with someone so sensitive. He also used the term ‘high maintenance’ (GASP!! I AM NOT!!!). I suppose his reasoning was because I got so emotional (read: cried) when things first started going downhill and my expectation to talk things through. My response to him? “Isn’t that a good thing?”

Isn’t it?

I’m not a bitch. I’m not shallow or callous or manipulative. I care about what other people feel and think. The other night N and I had texting problems (he wasn’t receiving mine, but I got his) and it absolutely KILLED me to think that he might think  I was ignoring him (we figured it out and laughed it off on the phone later). I don’t like to make people feel bad, intentionally or not.

I cry when I’m upset and part of that is my body’s attempt to release any emotional strain. I don’t bottle things up. That’s just the way I am, and the more I care about a situation, the bigger my emotional upheaval will be. Sure, I wish I had thicker-skin when it comes to dating, but I don’t and from my perspective, that gives me an edge over other women. Being sensitive means I’m going to care and not be a horrible person; it doesn’t mean I’m going to be a push over and put up with crap. It just means I might cry when dealing with said crap.

So here I am, Miss Sense and Sensitivity. I feel. Deal with it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

