Skip to content

Catch me if you can!

July 15, 2010

I’ve been thinking about the concept of playing hard to get.

When I’m in a new dating situation and things aren’t going well, the first piece of advice people give me is to ignore him or make him chase you. They say men love the chase.

But what if I don’t? What if I’m happier just trying to be with someone rather than pretending I’m not available for the sake of making him want me more? I want someone who will want me because he wants me, not because I’ve concocted a mystery around myself that just isn’t there. How is that real?

The situation: last night N asked when he could see me again. This happens to be a week for me where there’s not a lot going on, so I said I’m free tonight and tomorrow (now today). I want to see him. Plus I’m away for the weekend and would miss him if I couldn’t see him for days. Why pretend otherwise? I don’t think he has any problem with it considering he’s as eager as I am to get together. This is our fifth date since last Tuesday so he’s definitely not playing the waiting game. But i can’t help but wonder….will it bite me in the ass further down the road?

Some would argue that it’s just the way men are and you have to work with that. But they have to work with us too! I don’t play games. I’m straight forward and honest. And if I want to see someone, I’ll say so. Just as we have to bend to their personalities, so do they to ours. It’s not a one way street.

I’m going to keep doing what feels right to me and I suppose the right guy won’t care how he gets me, as long as he does 🙂

So far N seems like the right guy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

