Skip to content

Missions

July 12, 2010

In my family we have an expression: C’s Missions.
This term was coined by my sister way back in the day as a result of me wanting something and my family practically moving heaven and earth to find it for me.
Spoiled? Hell no! Most of the time I was paying for the item in question myself. But my parents understood early on that if I had a thought in my head, there was no way it was leaving until every option had been explored.

Example. When I was 13 I fell in love with a purse. I remember it exactly: black leather, quite small, around 5x3x2 inches. It had a metal swing clasp, burnished gold in colour and a really long thin strap. I found it at this chain store, karuba, that used to be in the Pickering Town Centre (for those of you familiar with that mall, it was right where Tabi had been the past few years).

I should have bought it but I didn’t and when went back, it was gone. We searched all the malls in the GTA with no luck. But I didn’t give up! That summer we were traveling to BC, which represented a while new shopping arena! My parents drove around the greater Vancouver area (much to my sisters horror) scouring the malls. Finally, we found it! It was mine and I wore that purse until it started coming apart at the seams.

It’s long gone now but the moral remains: I never give up. I’m persistent in getting what I want and eventually it will happen. There are no doubts about that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

