Skip to content

World Cup Fever

July 11, 2010

I felt that since I have probably been the only one in the last month NOT watching the World Cup, that I should at least try and watch the final game between the Netherlands and Spain to see what all the hoopla is about.

I watched the first 20 minutes, then laid down for a little nap. Woke up for halftime (no show??), grabbed a snack (salsa and chips, yogurt and an appled) and am now 80 minutes in, with 10 left to go and no goals. I know very little about soccer (I’ve had to text N twice with questions) but do know that though there is no overtime in the preliminary games, there is in the final games so it may go longer than the scheduled 90 minutes. Oh my.

I think if Canada was in the finals, I’d be way more into it. But I have no allegiance to Spain or Holland. I suppose I’m rooting for Holland. I like their orange uniforms 🙂

I’ve had quite a busy weekend! Yesterday morning I was up and out the door by 11 to run errands with my sister and CJ before heading downtown for my friend’s bridal shower. I was home by 5:30, called N and he came over around 8ish. We were both super tired and he wasn’t feeling that great so we ended up watching a movie, which was awesome. My favourite thing to do with a guy….well…not quite my MOST favourite thing 🙂

He headed home around 10:30 and I went over to my sister’s to stay the night since my brother-in-law is away. I didn’t get much sleep, since CJ is teething and up every couple of hours, but I’ll tell you this: there isn’t much better than waking up to find a smiling baby lying next to you. So freakin’ cute. I came home around 10:30 this morning and proceeded to vacuum, clean my kitty’s litter, put my laundry away, make lunch, work out, pop out for groceries and pull weeds in my front garden before crashing to watch The Game.

Busy, yup. Tired, yup. But good. I feel good.

Except for the fact that OT is not what I thought it was and there is now 30 MORE minutes of the game!! Not even sudden death. Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

