Skip to content

“Paper! Snow! A Ghost!”

June 14, 2010

Hands up if you recognize where I got my title for today….that’s right kids, it’s Joey from Friends during the episode where he’s on the Pyramid game show. I can relate everything in life to Friends.

Today I relate to Joey because I’ve recognized another one of my many quirks. When I’m talking with someone, and they pause, trying to find the appropriate word, I jump right in and try to guess what word they’re looking for.

Example:

No one in particular: I’m feeling kind of, I don’t know……

Me: Lonely!

No one in particular: No, not that it’s just I’m….

Me: Scared!

No one in particular: Not really…

Me: Horny!

No one in particular: What?

I’m not sure why I do it. Am I trying to help? Am I trying to find pin point the problem so we can find a solution? Am I telling them to feel how I want them to feel? Who knows. It’s just something I’ve noticed about myself recently. I’m going to try and rein that one in. I personally would find it kind of annoying to have someone trying to diagnose me like that. But now that I recognize I do it, I can stop myself when I want to jump in. I’m sure I won’t be able to do it cold turkey, but I’ll give it a go!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

