Skip to content

Expect the unexpected

May 30, 2010

My weekend didn’t go according to plan.

I had originally thought I would be seeing M on Friday night, but he ended up going to London for the weekend and I haven’t heard from him, so I’m assuming he’s not back yet (it’s 6pm on Sunday as I type this). We had a slight mis-communication on Friday (I’m not going to go into detail about it, which should tell you something about what I”m feeling for him). I’ve been thinking about it for the past two days and I admit it’s making my slightly anxious. It’s not going to break us up, but I desperately want to talk to him and resolve it, but I’m not sure that that’s the right move.  However the mis-communication came about when I thought I was making the right move but apparently it was the wrong one, so who knows what’s right or wrong! I think I’ll just play it by ear the next time we see each other. My instinct is to try and make things right but he’s probably moved on from it by now. We semi-resolved it on Friday but I feel like it’s unfinished. He may feel differently. Le sigh. Dating is tough. Regardless of our strong connection, we’re still getting to know each other and that means that things like this will happen as we find our footing together. Le double sigh. It’s agonizing!

Yesterday I did manage to get my gardening done, so that at least went well. I was up very early, at 7:30 and out back weeding by 8:30. It took me three hours but I managed to get my beds relatively weed free and uncover my perennials (a few of which I may have inadvertently pulled). My parents popped over for tea and a bit to eat around noon to tell me all about the new house they just bought! It’s considerably smaller than their current home, is a bungaloft and won’t be built until 2011. The nice part? It’s a 3 minute drive from my house! They’ll be even closer than they are now!

I was supposed to have a girls night with A, but she had an unexpected family member arrive yesterday and had to cancel. I was bummed, but totally understood! So I changed plans and headed over to my sister’s in-laws to hang out by the pool for the afternoon. What a beautiful day, though I felt somewhat childless. My sister was there with my niece, her sister-in-law with her two boys, a friend of ours who is preggers and her little girl, and another friend with her six week old baby boy. I felt like I was in a Sesame Street vignette : “One of this things is not like the other, one of these things just doesn’t belong.”

Around 4:30 we headed over to my parents for a BBQ and had a lovely dinner outside. I love summer! At 7:30 I headed home and crashed on the couch to watch a movie. I ordered Up in the Air, which was super cute. I enjoyed it a lot. George Clooney is so sexy. By eleven I was wiped and hit the sack.

Today I had no clear plans and an aching back (the result of gardening) put the kibosh on anything physical. So it’s been a relaxing day inside for me, though I did head out for groceries earlier this afternoon. Food is important, or else I’ll buy my lunches and that’s not so healthy.

So it wasn’t the weekend I expected, but I’m not unhappy about it. I got to spend pretty much the whole day outside yesterday which was awesome! And I spent time with my sister and my niece, and saw my parents (my dad is finally back from his business trip). I wish I’d been able to see M, but we’re not at the stage where we do everything together. I don’t even know if I want that stage. I like doing my own thing from time to time. But it is hard not seeing him since Tuesday!

Hopefully y’all enjoyed the beautiful weather!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

