Skip to content

The Wait

May 7, 2010

You’re freshly showered and dressed. You’re reluctant to do anything because he could be here at any moment.Your heart is racing, you have butterflies in your tummy and you keep checking to make sure your lipstick is still adequately applied. You’re waiting for your date to arrive.

Countless of books go on and on about the actual dates themselves, but they don’t really go into prepping for the date. I’ve got my routine down to a fine art, so that I’m not ready too early, which would give me tons of time to dwell on what’s going to happen over the next few hours. I always make sure to have a little snack, especially if no plans for dinner were mentioned. Make sure you’re dressed appropriately for the planned activity. Heels will not work if you’re going for a walk in the woods.

As you wait, a million things go through your mind, depending on what number date this is. For me, tonight, it’s number two. This is the date where you see if all of your impressions from the first date were correct. Is he what you remember him to be. This is usually the date of the first kiss. If you’re really into your date, other firsts may happen, and, well, I’m not going into details because my mom reads this. But you get the idea. This is where you decide if you want to keep seeing them beyond a second date, and potentially for many dates to come.

It’s almost more important than the first date. This is where you really give it a chance.

He’s running a few minutes late, which is fine. He texted me to let me know. So I wait.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

