Skip to content

Shopping is good for the soul

April 30, 2010

Today was payday and things were not as drastic as I’d thought they be, post-vacation. So I stopped into Chapters on my way to my mom’s for dinner and picked up a few books. I’ve been very careful about buying books lately, and have been either borrowing from people or taking them out from the library, but this week was so exhausting, I needed a little pick me up. So to pick me up, I picked up:

  • Savour the Moment by Nora Roberts – Third in the Bride Quartet
  • The fourth and fifth books in the Sookie Stackhouse series (which True Blood is based on…True Blood starts June 13!!!) by Charlaine Harris
  • The Book of Awesome – I can’t remember the author, but I’m really excited to read it. There are all sorts of anecdotes about the little things in life that bring you joy and you find just plain awesome. Example? When you’re playing monopoly and someone lands on your hotel. Pure joy. (Note: it’s based on a blog! Visit to get an idea of what it’s like)

I also did a little online shopping, but I consider that an extension of my US trip. While I was there I was on the hunt for a glass water bottle, by Lifefactory. It’s reusable, glass with a silicone cover, and free of all the nasty long names that we’ve been told to avoid. I’ve mentioned before how I don’t like drinking water out of containers I can’t see, so I was hoping this will help me stay hydrated when on the go and at work. But I couldn’t find it at Nordstrom’s, where their website said they could be found.

I did what I do best and wrote an email to the Lifefactory people and the co-founder herself actually wrote me back telling me where to find them in Canada and through a Canadian website, so I wouldn’t have to pay enormous shipping and customs fees for a $24 bottle. I found the bottle here. I got the red one! The nicest thing is that the US price and the Canadian price only differ by $1.50, so it’s not a huge deal. It should arrive next week!

I shall stay hydrated while reading! Unless I’ve read my books by then. It’s been known to happen…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

