Skip to content

Almost time!

April 12, 2010

Only 2.5 sleeps until I’m leaving for the States! I spent a lot of the weekend getting myself ready to go!

Saturday I got my hair chopped off! I meant to take a before picture, but completely forgot. See if you can picture this: my hair fell to about six inches below my shoulders; now it is about an inch below. Whew! Lots taken off. I’m getting used to brushing and washing it’s shorter length, and while I miss my long locks, I know it was good for the health of my hair to do it.

After getting it cut, I met up with my sister and CJ and the three of us went to the mall. I tried on a pair of gladiator-style shoes from Spring, but no go. But  I did pick up a new pair of jeans from the Gap. A tall pair, so that when I wash them I’ll still be able to wear them with boots and heels. I actually wore them on my date.

Ah, the date. I mentioned there was no chemistry. That still holds. We had a nice time at the Science Centre, and we had Japanese after (he paid, proper thing). I was polite and we had good conversation but I wasn’t overly attentive and flirty, hoping he’d get the message. But he likes me. He called me last night. I didn’t answer because I was at my parents, but the gist of it is that I’m going to have to call him tonight and do the whole “you’re a nice guy, but….” routine. I’m not very good at doing that AT ALL, but I’m a huge proponent of the golden rule. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. If I had called a guy, but he’s not interested, I would at least want him to call me back to tell me so. It would be so easy just to ignore it, but I think about how I feel when that happens to me and I’d rather not mimic that behaviour. So I’ll gather my courage (perhaps with the assistance of a glass of wine) and make the call.

Back to the rest of the weekend….

Sunday was a bit more low key than Saturday. I puttered around in the morning, doing laundry, working out etc. Mid-afternoon I gathered up all my kitty’s gear, then gathered the kitty herself (so proud! she went right into her carrier, no fuss!) and took her to her g’ma and g’pa’s, where she’ll be staying while I’m gone. I stayed there for a few hours, taking care of some sewing (I hemmed some pants into capris) and watched some of the Master’s with my Dad. I felt kind of happy that Tiger didn’t win. I feel like he doesn’t deserve it. But Phil Michelson does! He’s awesome and I’m thrilled he won! Look at me talking about golf….

Speaking of sports, I learned something on the weekend that makes me wish I could travel back in time: John Morris (aka Johnny Mo), gorgeous second on the men’s olympic curling team, went to Laurier. While I was there. He graduated in ’03, me in ’01, which means that there was a one or two year period of time where we were there at the exact same moment. We’re the same age, but he started later. Holy God. Imagine??? We could have met!! Makes me wish I had been more involved at school. I feel like we’re destined to be together 🙂

I miss the olympics.

And now it’s back to work, but only for three days! I can’t wait to get away. Weather in New Orleans for Thursday? A lovely 26 degrees C, with a ton of sun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. beyondbennett permalink
    April 12, 2010 1:22 pm

    2.5 days bay-bee! WHEEEE!!

    Love the new header pic!

Leave a Reply

