Skip to content

Stop and smell the roses

April 7, 2010

My generation is spoiled rotten. We are so used to getting everything we want, and at such an expedited pace, that when we’re faced with a process that requires us to take our time, we balk. Our concept of time has changed over the years. Everything we want is at our fingertips.  Every one lives to find the fastest route to work or the quickest way to make a lot of money or the easiest way to lose weight. Social calendars are filled, because to just sit back and relax is a waste of time. We’re spoiled and overindulged, our every whim catered to and it’s causing us harm. We continue moving quickly and expecting fast rewards, regardless of the consequences and who may get hurt in the process. We’re losing sight of the important things in life, and have forgotten that not everything can be gained with the snap of our fingers.

Such is the problem with dating.

Dating is a process that does not happen overnight. It takes time to get to know someone. You cannot tell from a 30 second meeting or a quick glance of someone’s online profile if they’re right for you. You have to be willing to take the time, and take a chance, on getting to know someone. It is not a waste of time to figure out they’re not the person for you. It’s just part of the process. Unless I have a serious deep down gut ‘no’ reaction, I try and give everyone a chance, and I really wish that men would do the same.

I like to think that I have a good grasp of time. I’m never in a hurry to get anywhere, because I always allow myself space to get ready. I take time for myself to just sit back and relax. I value the moments I’m not doing anything, just as I value the moments when I am out and about. I don’t push the gas to run a yellow, just so I won’t have to sit for a couple of minutes waiting for the light to change. I’ll wait patiently, looking around at what’s happening in the world. Two minutes will not kill me, just as taking the time to get to know someone I’m dating will not kill me either.

It’s taken me a long time to come to that realization (and accept it), and I’m hoping that my ‘enlightenment’ will benefit me in the weeks to come! I’m only 32. I have an entire lifetime left ahead of me, and plenty of time to accomplish the things I want to do and experience.

And now I have to run, or I’m going to be late meeting L for dinner! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

