Skip to content

Just another manic monday…

March 22, 2010

Sigh. Another Monday morning and another day my alarm didn’t go off. I remember setting the time, and I remember double checking before I turned off my light to make sure I’d set the time, but apparently didn’t turn the alarm on, which is always helpful. So I woke up an hour late. Luckily traffic wasn’t horrible this morning and I was in the office by 9:30, which is actually my usual time, since traffic normally IS horrible.

I’m feeling off this morning (lady troubles) so the extra sleep in was nice, I’ll admit. I wasn’t at my best yesterday either, but managed to accomplish more than I did on Saturday!

I woke up Sunday morning, pulled myself together and headed up to Goodwood to meet B at Richter’s Herbs. It was B’s first time there, but I had visited years and years and years ago with another good friend, who now lives in Winnipeg (miss you A!!! Can you believe it’s been like 7 years since you moved away?). Richter’s is a gardener’s dream, if said gardener has an herb garden. I spied a few plants I’ll be picking up once the weather is nicer. I did pick up little terra cotta pot to hold garlic, something I’ve been wanting.

B and I managed to pull ourselves away with minimal damage to our bank accounts, and we headed over to a local cafe for some lunch. I had the best cup of coffee ever, along with a smoked salmon pita melt. Yummy smoked salmon salad stuffed in a super fresh pita, topped with cheese. G.O.O.D. I’ve been craving salmon, so it definitely hit the spot. B and I discussed our upcoming trip to New Orleans, and anything else that came to mind. We’re never lacking for conversation!

After lunch I wasn’t quite ready to go home (where my wall frames awaited to be painted), so I drove along Hwy 47 and discovered Uxbridge. In all my years living in Durham Region, I don’t recall ever driving through Uxbridge. It is more developed than I realized, so much so that there is a Walmart. Who knew! They have a cute downtown area (one thing my town of Ajax is missing) I’d like to explore one day. I drove down into Whitby with the intention of going to Home Depot to check out patio stones, but their garden centre isn’t open yet (hello? it’s spring!!). So instead I popped into Winners. I found a couple of cute tops, but they didn’t look good on. Note to self: when hormonal and bloated, do not shop.

Finally I bit the bullet and went home, where numerous chores awaited me. I bypassed working on my walls in favour of cleaning my bathroom and dusting my bedroom. I procrastinated even more by sorting through my jewelry to weed out the pieces I don’t wear anymore. By the time that was done, it was time to head over to my parents for dinner. Needless to say, I did not get my walls painted over the weekend.

After dinner I came home and really wasn’t feeling well, so I curled up on the couch, put the fire on, and watched a neat documentary on Stonehenge. It was cool! It was about this new theory a British archaeologist had about what Stonehenge was used for (a tribute to the dead, rather than to sun gods) and how he and his team excavated around the site to find evidence to prove his theory. Very interesting, and made me miss my days of digging in the dirt! I have a BA in archaeology, for anyone who may not know.

And now it’s the start of another work week. I cannot believe it’s almost the end of March. Where is the time going? It’s almost Easter (yay! four day weekend!) and then I’m off on vacation. And then it’s back to dating!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 3:58 pm

    I try not to think about it! 7 years is a long time. When you mentioned Richter’s I was giddy. I spent so much time and money there…and would again.

Leave a Reply

