Skip to content

Weekend update

February 7, 2010

Thirty years ago today my life as I knew it ended. And I am thankful every day that it did, because that was the day my sister came into my life. A rude interruption in an otherwise blissful world as the only child, it took some getting used to. But as the years passed, I began to recognize, even at a young age, how empty my life would be without her. That remains true today. I can’t write anymore without crying, so I’ll just wish my sister a very happy 30th birthday!

My weekend flew by in a haze. I had a lot going on! Friday night I got home, made a dinner of spanikopita and tzatziki, and settled in to paint my chair rails (pics to come).

Saturday I got up early. I can’t seem to sleep in anymore. So I got up, had breakfast, worked out (including weights!) and headed out to run some errands. The library was on my list, to pick up Steve Berry’s latest, The Paris Vendetta. I’m halfway done it and it’s proving to be an exciting read!

I came home just in time to meet up with my mom and we had a nice visit waiting for my dad to arrive to start in on my chair rails. He got here around 1pm and four hours later the rails were up! It looks absolutely amazing. I can’t wait to get the wall frames in, but those will have to wait until another weekend. And until I get them painted J

Saturday night we had a nice family dinner at my sister’s to celebrate her birthday. CJ was as always, the centre of the party, sharing the spotlight with her cousin (whose initials, funny enough, are also CJ), who is the cutest little guy! I headed home around 9:30 thinking I could stay up and watch a movie, but sadly was in bed before midnight. Harry Potter would have to wait until morning!

I got up this morning and lounged a bit, puttyied the nail holes in my chair rails, and then got myself ready to head out. Today, for lunch, I met up with one of my oldest friend’s, C. C was the very first friend I made in Ontario, when we moved here from Newfoundland almost 25 years ago! We reconnected through Facebook and when she decided to come visit her family, we made plans to get together. And it was great! We reminisced over memories from our childhood, caught up on what’s happening in our families, and just chatted about how things have been since we last saw each other 14 years ago (CRAZY!!). I had a super time C!! We will for sure keep in touch, and I may just decide to pay you a visit!

In the spirit of remembering times past, I was feeling a little nostalgic on Friday night and busted out my copy of Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume. I read half of it in 45 minutes. So funny! That book completely influenced my life. I read it so many times as a young girl, I had to buy a new copy, because the old one was falling apart. It’s fun to go back and re-read those great influences. It makes sense to me, even now.

So here I am, Sunday night, getting myself in gear for work tomorrow. The super bowl is on, but being a single gal in a single gal house and not even close to being a football fan, I’m watching Sleepover, on WGN. I just finished watching Sweet Home Alabama, one of my favourite movies of all time.

No new updates on things with A. I continue to be patient and follow the suggestions of the dating books. I’m feeling slightly anxious, but not horribly so, which means I’m happy to say I won’t do anything rash! I’ve been keeping myself busy, so I’m not pining, and he knows I’ll be receptive to him when he gets in touch again. He’s a rubber band, stretched out right now. He’ll spring back to me soon! And I’m fine with that. For now. Apparently it’s how men work.

I hope everyone had a great weekend! Thank God next Monday is a holiday though. I’m looking forward to a day off!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

