Skip to content

Mishmash

February 2, 2010

Oscars – my most favourite awards show! It’s literally a day event, with Oscar pre-shows starting in the early afternoon and the awards themselves often finishing into the wee hours of the morning. The past few years my tradition has been to head over to B’s to watch and this year will be no exception! We’ve already scheduled March 7th into our calendars! Today, the nominees were announced. There were no real surprises, though I’d forgotten that there would be 10 nominees for Best Picture this year, rather than the usual five. Could get interesting!

Dating – I haven’t heard from A, but refreshingly, I’m not bothered by it. I love that I have this positive attitude, which a couple weeks ago, was sadly missing from my life. I think I’m going to have to give up the idea of dating multiple guys at a time though. I just can’t seem to focus on more than one at a time. Maybe if we were just seeing each other, I could handle it, but it’s a bit more than that with A, so I’m going to give myself a break and just relax and enjoy. I may send him a text tomorrow just to say hey. But then again, I may not. Who knows! I’ll do what feels right in my gut.

Exercise – I just worked out! For the second time in less than a week! This may seem like a normal thing, but I realized a few days ago that I haven’t worked out since the holidays. That’s weeks ago! I enjoy working out, I really do. I hop on the elliptical with a show on or with my ipod and I just pedal away, attention focused on the TV or the music. I only work out for 20 minutes or so, but it’s enough for me. My body responds well to working out in several small increments a week, rather than a couple of long, intense workouts. Plus, I cannot focus my attention for more than 20 minutes. I’ve learned to do what works for me! So I hopped on tonight, after supper and feel really great. I have to make a point of working out, no matter how busy I am.

TV – I’m probably the only person on the planet not watching Lost tonight. Instead, I’ve got 19 Kids and Counting on. Love that family! I’m not entirely in agreement with their religious beliefs, but I’m absolutely fascinated by the fact that they have 19 children! What saddens me is that when their 19th child was born prematurely, weighing in at just over one pound, people commenting on websites etc. said that this was their retribution for having so many children! I cannot believe that people are so wrapped up in their own opinions, lack of understanding and so determined to find fault in others that they would consider a sick child punishment. That’s just wrong, in so many ways. My theory is that it doesn’t matter how many children you have, as long as you love those children. There are people in the world with just one child who don’t love him/her as much as this family loves their 19.

Valentine’s Day – despite the fact that I may, for the first time in my life have a Valentine (I’m not holding out for it though), I still hate this day. Call it years of resentment, but I don’t see why there has to be so much focus on just one day to express your love. This should be done every day. But apparently, love makes for mass consumerism, and there is absolutely no escaping this wretched holiday. There are commercials everywhere! Especially annoying are the ones advertising diamonds. ARGH!!! Let’s rub it in to the single people that no one wants to express how much they love us by giving us some bling (This means you Spence Diamonds!!!). Thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

